Sharing your app builder
At any point when building out your app, you can share your app's builder with other users of your choice and invite them to collaborate with you on building out your app. When you share your app's builder with another user(s), that builder is referred to as a shared builder.
You can view your subscription plan details at any time by clicking here. You can view the total shared builders allowed to your account within the Advanced section of your subscription plan details as illustrated in the image below.
Sharing your builder
By default, edit-access to modify the Data Builder, Page Builder, and app settings is granted and collaborators will have access to edit all aspects of your app unless you disable any/all of these three modification settings. If you choose to restrict edit-access to the Data Builder, Page Builder, or app settings, collaborators will still have viewing access but they will be restricted from making any changes within the restricted area of your builder.
Please Note: Restricting edit-access to the Data Builder will still allow users to add, edit, and delete records. This access restriction is only for modifying the schema and other Data Builder settings.
When Modify Data Builder is disabled, the following features will be impacted.
|❌ Not Allowed||✅ Allowed|
|Adding/editing tables||Importing records|
|Adding/editing fields||Editing records|
|Adding/editing Table Rules||Adding records|
|Adding/editing Webhooks||Batch updates/deletes|
Adding/editing table settings
|Adding/editing import templates||Rearrange field order|
|Adding/editing export templates|
|Clear User Login Logs|
Add/edit user roles
When Modify Page Builder is disabled, the following features will be impacted.
|❌ Not Allowed|
Changing page and layout settings
When Modify App Settings is disabled, the following features will be impacted.
|❌ Not Allowed|
|Editing General Settings|
|Editing layout and format settings|
|Editing Domain settings|
|Editing Security Settings|
Logout active sessions
|Editing SEO Settings|
|Editing 404 Error Page|
|Editing Header/Footer code|
|Editing email settings|
|Adding/editing app variables|
|Editing file storage settings|
|Editing text message settings|
|Adding/editing API keys (API Keys will still be visible)|
|Enabling disabling support|
Upon clicking the Share button, an invite email will be sent inviting the user to collaborate with your shared builder.
If the invited user is already a Tadabase user/customer, the invite email will appear as such:
If the invited user is not an existing Tadabase user/customer, the invite email will include additional instructions guiding the invited user to first register for Tadabase.
Upon logging in to their existing Tadabase accounts or signing up for a new Tadabase account, the invited user will see your shared app within their My Apps tab with a Shared tag as illustrated below:
Collaborating on shared builders
Once your invited users gain access to your shared builder, you can begin working together within the same app builder, even at the same time.
If you've restricted access to specific parts of the builder, any changes attempted by collaborating users will result in an error message notifying them that they do not have access to make these changes:
This error message will appear for any changes attempted within restricted sections of your shared builder.
When multiple users are working within a shared builder at the same time, changes made by one user within the Data Builder will not be reflected for other users until their browsers are refreshed.
In contrast, changes made within the Page Builder are managed automatically and any changes made by one user within the Page Builder do not require browser refreshing in order to reflect to other users.
Locking data tables
As changes made within the Data Builder of a shared builder are not managed automatically, Tadabase recommends that collaborating users lock the specific data table they are working on/editing for the duration of their editing needs within that data table. They can lock the specific data table they are working on by hovering over the data table and clicking Lock:
Once a data table is locked, it can not be edited by any other user until the lock has been removed.
Please Note: App owners can override locked data tables by removing Data Builder edit-access for the collaborator who locked the data table.
While collaborating users are advised to manually lock the data table they are currently editing within the Data Builder, Page Builder locking is managed for you automatically.
Every time a collaborator opens a page in the Page Builder, that page will be automatically locked and can only be modified by the current collaborator. When other collaborating users open the same page, they will see a message displayed on the bottom of the page informing them that the page is currently being edited and by whom:
Other users will not be allowed to make changes to the page until the current collaborator working on this page leaves the page. Once the current collaborator leaves the page, the lock is automatically removed.
This process occurs automatically and pages are automatically locked and unlocked every time collaborators open and leave each page.
There are several restrictions to note for locking pages within the Page Builder:
- Each user can only lock a single page at a time. If a user is working on several tabs at once (which Tadabase does not recommend), only the most recent tab will be successfully locked under that user.
- If a page is idle for 30 minutes, the page lock will be released.
- App owners can override locked pages by saving the page, even when the page is currently being edited by another user.